shAnti mantrA: Aitareya UpaniShad

Every Upanishad begins with a Shanti Mantra or a Peace Chant. Some of the popular Shanti mantras include “Om Poornamadah poornamidam…” which is the Shanti Mantra of the the Ishavasya Upanishad as well as Brhadaranyaka Upanishad. Another popular Shanti mantra is “Om Sah navavatu…” which is the Shanti Mantra of the Taittiriya Upanishad, KaThopanishad and Shvetashvatara Upanishad.

The shAnti Mantra for the Aitareya Upanishad, which belongs to the shAkala shAkha of the Rg Veda is as follows:

OM vAG me manasi pratiShThitA,
mano me vAci pratiShThitamAvirAvIrma edhi |
vedasya ma ANIsthaH, shrutaM me mA prahAsIH |
anenAdhItenAhorAtrAn saMdhAmi RtaM vadiShyAmi |
satyaM vadiShyAmi |
tanmAmavatu |
tadvaktAramavatvavatu |
mAmavatu | vaktAramavatu vaktAram ||
OM shAntiH shAntiH shAntiH ||

Meanings of words:
vAG = speech.
me = my
manasi = in mind;
pratiShThitA = be rooted;

manaH = mind;
me = my;
vAci = in speech;
pratiShThitam = is rooted;

Avir-AvIr-ma-Edhi = Brahman reveal thyself to me;
vedasya = of the VedA theme;
ma ANIsThaH = may I master;

shRutam = that I have heard;
me = me;
mA = do not;
prahAsIH = forsake;

anena = by this;
adhitena = by studies;
ahorAtrAn = days and nights;
saMdadhAmi = continuously live;
RtaM = truth; Order of the Universe;
vadiShyAmi = I speak;

satyam = truth;
vadiShyAmi = I speak;

tat-mAm-avatu = may that protect me

tat = That;
vaktAram = he who speaks (Teacher);
avatu = protect;

shAntiH = peace be;

Meaning:

May my voice be established in my mind. May my mind be established in my voice. Oh Brahman, reveal thyself to me. O mind and speech, enable me to understand the truth that vedas teach. Let not what I have heard forsake me. Let me spend continuously my day and nights in my studies. I think truth. I speak the truth. May That protect me. May That protect the teacher. Om Let there be peace.

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in Upanishads and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to shAnti mantrA: Aitareya UpaniShad

  1. Hariprasad Nellitheertha says:

    Namaskara Gautham,

    Very nice post. Do you have the list of the Shanti Mantras for the (10 main) Upanishads? A post on that would be really nice.

    Thanks, Hari

  2. ego says:

    Namaskara Hari,

    You can actually find the list that you’re looking for on the Wikipedia. Here is the Link :
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shanti_Mantra

    The meanings of the individual words is not included in the Wiki. I thought it might be useful for a beginner, someone like me who wants to understand the word when he/she pronounces it. I plan to do that for all the Shanti mantras of the main upanishads and put it in one place.

  3. tunafish says:

    Hey, read Kalidasa’s abhignanasakuntalam. They way he writes ad the way he plays with the words is absolutely lovely!

  4. Pingback: VandeNikhilam Information » Blog Archive » Random Walk of Life » Blog Archive » shAnti mantrA: Aitareya UpaniShad

  5. Arun says:

    Please let me know your Email ID.

  6. ego says:

    Hi Arun,
    You can email me at gautham[dot]shenoy[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a comment