Repressed and Rebels : Part 2

One of the advantages (or disadvantages, depends on how you see it) of the life as a grad student is the ample amount that’s available to waste away. Being a grad student, I make really good use of this opportunity to waste time. So much that I fear I might end up becoming a slacker one day.

And like any other campus in the country, the one where I study has a good collection of movies and TV series floating around. When I am not attending classes or breaking my head over assignments,  I try to entertain myself watching movies and Television series. Not that I have been very successful at this attempt!

Anyway, coming to TV series, there used to be this UK sitcom named “Coupling” which I liked very much. The first three seasons were brilliant. Not just the characters, the style in which the episodes were narrated were also awesome.  I didn’t like the fourth one so much. And from what I could gather, many others who have seen it haven’t liked it as much as they liked the earlier one. May be that’s why makers of the show decided to wind it up.

Now, one of the characters, which in my opinion was the highlight of the series was that of Jeffrey Murdoch played by Richard Coyle. A very confused character who has always has a way of bringing arbit stuff on the table, even when the situation is seemingly tense.   Interestingly, Colye chose not to reprise his role as Jeff Murdoch in the fourth season, and hence they had to do away with that character. May be that’s also one of the reasons why the fourth season was not as much fun.

Anyway, I was wondering, why would Coyle choose not to continue playing a character which was so immensely popular? In a 2005 interview Coyle revealed his reasons:

“I was very keen that that character didn’t stick with me. It’s the kind of character that does. I’m an actor and I want to be an actor when I’m 60. It’s a lifelong process, why cut it off by boxing yourself into a little pigeon hole early on?” – Richard Coyle, 2005

Well, the fear of  typecasting! Reminds me of an old blogpost of mine where a friend expressed something similar :

“Dude, I don’t want to be defined by some one thing that I do in life. I’ve seen it happen before. You show your interest in something, and people around you create an image, associating you with that thing. And in course of time, you yourself accept that image, and feed it further. One fine day, when you discover something else which is “fun”, the same people tell you that the “fun” thing doesn’t fit your image or it’s extrapolations. And thus, you automatically become a member of the society’s “Repressed or Rebels Club”. The moment you let something define you, you are enslaved by an obligation to do well in that. Sometimes it happens without your knowledge. And you start thinking – ‘But this is what I wanted to do all the while! So I should be happy.’ Just that my idea of happiness isn’t preceded by conditionals.”

May be that’s one of the reasons why people don’t like being in one place for too long.

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in arbit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

