Laptop Purchase: Advice Please!

I am going back to being a student starting this august.

First thing that struck me was that I will have to return my company provided laptop, a Lenovo T60p which has been my constant companion for the past 3.5 years. The laptop has served me well, but now it’s time to move on (Company policy requires me to return it 😦 )

I would have loved to continue with Lenovo, but I have heard that their support is a bit expensive. I am not sure if I will be able to afford it as a student.

So, that means, I’ll have to purchase a new laptop before I join college and I have less than 15 days to do that. My budget is 35k to 40k INR. I need a Linux compatible laptop which means that certain Graphics cards and certain wireless cards are not allowed.

College going junta or otherwise, any suggestions, advice regarding the do’s and dont’s that one should keep in mind while purchasing a new laptop, kindly advice. It’ll be much appreciated.

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in academia, crowd-sourcing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laptop Purchase: Advice Please!

  1. Chirag Jog says:

    Dell are cheap, reliable and the Linux works on the inspiron series .

  2. Sathyanath says:

    Hi…
    For laptop purchase I can give advice…
    I suggest to go for Toshiba Satellite series. They are really great and available at affordable price (33 K-40 K)…
    Good combination include Intel Core2Duo 2.1 GHz atleast, 2 GB DDR3/4GB DDR2, 2 MB L2 Cache. There is a new series from intel. You can also go for i3 or i5 series. They are energy efficient and new breed high perfomance and light weight at an affordable price too. And the good thing is you can get the Toshiaba satellite series with or without Windows. You prefer Linux so you can save 3 to 8 K on the show room price.

  3. Pingback: Random Walk of Life » Blog Archive » Why a netbook doesn’t work for me

Leave a Reply

