Working for Fun

Quick Takes (Style shamelessly borrowed from KCG’s blog)

  • Cricket: India comprehensively defeated Australia in the 2nd Test!
  • IEEE tutorial session on GNU/Linux Kernel Programming held during the last weekend went well. Though I had to wrap up the session on synchronization primitives in just 20 minutes!
  • Visible progress in my SOP.
  • New home rocks. Calm, Peaceful, and AWESOME!
  • Klueless4 is out. At the time of this writing I have crossed level 24. It’s damn addictive. You have been warned!
  • Happy Diwali everyone!

So, how many of  you find your work to be fun ? As in your day job is something which you would love to do even if it wasn’t a means of earning your daily bread (go for the healthier whole wheat variant!) ?

I have been working on the Linux kernel related stuff for the past two years. I don’t think of my work as “work” where in you lose precious hours of your life doing something that has been forced upon you, but as something which I love doing and am getting paid for it. Also, the fact that I can work from any place so long as I have internet connectivity that will support my VPN, and that I can work during any time of the day helps a lot. In fact I prefer working late in the night, since there are fewer distractions. In other words, I am one of those who works for fun!

Sadly, some of my close ones don’t seem to think so!

Every time I work from my home in Karkala, I admit, I do end up getting a lot more work done than usual. That’s because I get more time apart from reading the Linux Kernel Mailing list, LWN.net, research papers and doing a whole bunch of other stuff. Thus, I don’t find it surprising that some of the most interesting items that I have worked on in the past, happened to me while I was working from home!

While I find it extremely enjoyable, and by no means tiring or exhausting, my folks at home seem to think that I am working overtime for the big blue-blooded corporation! I am having trouble explaining to them that this is not just work, but fun too..! Sitting up late in the nights trying to find out loopholes in implementations of synchronization primitives or fixing things when they don’t behave as expected, is something which I enjoy doing..  It’s another matter that doing so, also pays me 🙂

I wonder, is it so hard to accept the fact that anyone could have fun while working!

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in experiences, linux, night out, tech, Views and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working for Fun

  1. Kripal says:

    The problem is that work != fun has been entered in every working persons dictionary. The best I can say in such a situation is a quote I picked up from an old copy of Readers Digest. “Find a job you like and you will never have to work for a day in your life.”

    There you have it. Problem solved. You have the wrong definition of work. You are using the scientific definition of work, while others around you are using the common mans definition. 🙂

Leave a Reply

