Old Love

No, I am not talking about Eric Clapton’s song or Jeffery Archer’s senti short story.

I am refering to Number Theory, a subject which I have liked and aced since my high school upto my engineering. We had Number Theory and Cryptography as an elective and it was one of the most challenging papers I have written till date. And the most interesting one too.

But sadly for the past two years, I have been out of touch.

So, this friday when I was at Sapna book house , and I couldn’t help noticing this book.

Elementary Number theory - David Burton

Bought it off and am going through the book now. Brings back the sweet old memories of the well-lit room in the 8th Block hostel room, with Shuaib crumpled on the bed going through the faded xerox material, Vaiju on the floor, me on the table and Madhu on the other bed, all of us trying to solve some assignment problem on primitive roots. And the excitement when one of us found a solution or even understood a complicated theorem. And the pride in explaining how the thing works!

Ah, well! Those were the days 🙂

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in fundoo, geek, reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Love

  1. Krips says:

    Looks like Godrej Hair dye is going to have a new customer in a few weeks. “Those were the days”!!!! 😛 God. You sound like people who lived in the 50’s recounting their childhood days.

    Or is it just the child in me hating to make me feel like an adult?

    Well I guess it just goes to say that your article does manage to evoke memories.

  2. Sathya says:

    Those were the days indeed!!!

    Number theory specially was my interest too… but then the fear of the monster drove the fun away from the subject… but I loved it when some one from the MACS department handled it an year before… was it Shankar?

    Sathya

Leave a Reply

