Fuss over Formals

Opening Mood: Fresh!
Opening song: Innocent Man – Billy Joel

Okay, for the past three days, I have been wearing formals to office. Yes, you heard it right, formal shirt (not a smart-comment T-Shirt), a pair of formal trousers (not faded jeans) and formal shoes (not my black puma!).

Before you start reading too much into it, let me tell you why!

I cleaned my wardrobe this Sunday, and I found that I had seven pairs of formal clothing, which I hadn’t seen in the past one year or so. Well, I might have seen them, but I conveniently turned a blind eye towards them. And most of them are in such good condition, as if they were new. That’ll tell you how often I must have worn them! So, I just decided to try them on for a week before putting them off again 🙂

And then, this funny incident happened.

One of the managers in my team asked me today, “what’s the matter with you? For the past few days I’ve been observing you in formals. What’s going on?”

I told him why I wore formals.

And he quipped, “I don’t believe it! One cannot go through a transformation like this all of a sudden. Something must have happened that must have prodded you to dress up like this! Is there something happening in your life?!”

Okay, that must have meant that I’m getting serious and all that. Or probably more! But lemme assure you, it’s nothing of that sort. Wearing formals was a simple mindless action.

What I find funny here is that, people believe everything must have a reason! Well, should there be one? I don’t think so. At times you want to do something just for the heck of doing it. That’s precisely what happened.

So, I guess, I’ll have to blame Aristotle for biasing human thought like this 😀

Closing song: Scandinavian Skies – Billy Joel
Closing Mood: Cpu-hotplug lock issue is back. Again!

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in experiences, humor, Views and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fuss over Formals

  1. Krips says:

    Sigmund Freud would disagree. According to him, you were probably sub conciously realising the fact that you have grown old 😛

  2. rand0mwalker says:

    Freud and his pompous a**. Now if I say, “So if i wear T-Shirts and jeans, does that mean, subconsciously i am growing young again?” , Freud might reply sayin “No. You’ll subconsciously realize that you’re growing old, and the subconscious will prod the conscious to wear young clothes so that you don’t know about subconscious’s realization about your growing old”

    Duh, I love self referential intertwined statements 😀

  3. dianon says:

    Well I think you had a reason, of course: you just wanted to vary. And it wasn’t a “serious” reason, like others thought – which makes it so funny how people’s mind works.

  4. Vaiju says:

    Well your manager was more keen on knowing where you were giving your next interview. Or else I don’t find the reason given by you sufficient enough.

Leave a Reply

