FOSS.in Day 4 (Day 2 for me)

Opening Mood: Sleepy.
Opening Song: Walk of Life – Dire Straits.

I couldn’t attend the morning nor the afternoon session owing to some work at office. However, I managed to catch the OpenMoko talk by Harald Welte. It’s a pretty neat stuff and has got an emulator which is based on qemu which does complete hardware emulation. So you can pretty much try out the whole moko-stack on the emulator without having the handset with you. One interesting thing I realized was that OpenMoko doesn’t use cpufreq support yet. I thought that ARM did have some kind of cpu-frequency scaling support. Something reminds me of powerops. But anyway, I am planning to look into it once I get some freetime.

Next, I met with the Mozilla developer Chris Hoffman to discuss a power management related issue on Linux, when we’re running on battery. I was fooling around with powertop the other day and observed that the one application which was consistently responsible for so many wakeups in the userspace was firefox. And that too when the firefox is minimized or is in a completely different workspace than the one which is active. It did seem stupid to do that, when the whole world is worried about the rising energy costs!!! More details on that bug can be found –> here

I also met Amit Shah one of the employees of Qumranet working on KVM. Looking forward to his talk tomorrow.

And at the end of the day a whole bunch of people that included Rusty, Thomas, Harald, Rasmus Lerdorf, Amit Shah, Srivatsan, Ravi my colleagues from office and folks from ABB went out to dinner at Bombay Post. A fitting end to the day I suppose.

Closing Song: Once upon a time in the west – Dire Straits.
Closing Mood: Really sleepy. Good night!

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in events, experiences, geek, linux and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOSS.in Day 4 (Day 2 for me)

  1. theG says:

    ok, so amit or thomas? very tough choice!

Leave a Reply

