Life minus Work

Opening Mood: Good. Just watched RDB for 2nd time.
Opening Song: Ya Ali – Gangster.

Date: 22nd April, 2007. 5:00 P.M

Life presents us with so many opportunities to spend our time in a joyful manner. We should learn to identify and exploit them. I believe that having fun in what you do is very important, because that’s the basic purpose of our living – the pursuit of happiness. (I will watch the movie someday)

When I joined work after college, work had become my only priority in life. Primarily because it was (and is) exciting. So exciting that I was ready to forgo everything else. My colleagues, mentors, friends criticized this attitude of mine. But I had no complains. Not until I noticed that I am missing out on some of the other good things in life. Were these other things important ? I guess so, since I started noticing that I was missing out on them.

Probably we all need to grow in several dimensions and not just one. That’s how we appreciate our journey as a human being.

Question was, what do I do?!. In college there was always something or the other to do. But what about in Bangalore (or should I get into the habit of saying Bengalooru) ? The answer turned out to be simple. A new city, a new culture meant a lot of new things to learn. I wanted to learn them. I still do. Which meant going out and exploring stuff. But not everybody around me, thought the same way. So I was kind of on my own. Besides, I found out that relaxing during weekends wasn’t or rather isn’t my cup of tea. I don’t enjoy sleeping those extra hours just because I have slogged my ass off during the weekdays. The so called “slogging” doesn’t make me tired. So I wanted to use the weekends to “do” something, which allowed me to learn and also have some fun!

So I did two things which were in my todo list since a long time.

I bought a bicycle! Yup, after five months of planning and procrastinating, I finally bought it. And now, I just love riding around the city on it. Keeps you fit as well. And gives you a means of exploring things on your own! Found out so many areas around my home which otherwise would have gone unexplored. The experience is good. But it’s not without risk either. I realized that one has to be very very careful while riding alongside the bigger vehicles. But one can more often than not avoid the busy roads and ride on the internal roads.

Then I joined Salsa classes. This place called Swingers in Indiranagar which teaches Salsa and a lot of other stuff. It’s a lot of fun shaking a leg and it ain’t all that difficult either! Already 3 weeks into the classes I find striking similarities between salsa and math. Both just flow in a smooth rhythmic manner.

Wondering what next! Drums ??! Probably. If I get time from the GRE/GATE preparation. So:

echo Learn drums >> todo.txt

Closing Song: Kya Mujhe pyaar hai- Woh Lamhe
Closing Mood: In mood for some cycling now!

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in experiences, Optimism, reflections, Views and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life minus Work

  1. Kripal says:

    Oh man. try and try until you succeed. Not you, me. looks like i finally succeeded in knocking some sense into that thick skull of yours. 😉

    good to see you taking up dance classes. We can share pointers next time i am in bangalore and if you arent too caught up in work 🙂

  2. Mr.H says:

    Salsa? Lol.

    You’ve come a long way since the Ocean’s kids days eh?

Leave a Reply

