Chicken!!

Opening Mood: It’s a weekend and I’m quite frozen! ( Don’t worry if you didn’t get the pun 😉 )
Opening Song: Spies – Coldplay.

How would you like it if I called you a chicken??

Chicken!

You would probably yell and growl at me to prove that you don’t mind being called any other animal, but not a chicken!

Well here’s the scene.

Friday afternoon, folks at my office like to eat out. Today it was well spent (both cash and time) at Pizza Hut. We had our fill of pizza and were waiting for the waiter to get our bill. Just then, the neighboring table was occupied by another group (who I guess also have the Friday eat-out culture). Now, I could tell from their faces, they were hungry. I mean mighty hungry. The way they were looking at the menu’s discussing stuff, as if it’s a big purchase decision.

A coupla minutes later, the leader of the group ( picture a guy who’s balding, wears frame-less spectacles, sports a french beard; a typical middle-aged techie) announced –

“Silence everyone! We all know we are hungry. So lets do this fast. I am not going to ask the question again. How many of them chicken?”

A reply from a lady – “I’m chicken.” Her neighbor – “Me too!” His neighbor -“Well, I would love to, but today it’s a shivratri (an auspicious day) else even I’m A chicken!”

I couldn’t hold it anymore. I burst out laughing.

The leader of the other group glares at me, looks at the waiter who was smiling, and says, “Except one, all four chickens.”

I paid my share of the bill, excused myself and ran out to have a hearty laugh! Boy! I know controlling my laughter is my weakness, considering the number of times I have been thrown out of the class for giggling when the teacher spoke of something which looked like a double entendre.

I just hope I don’t get to see the leader of that group anymore, else I will start laughing in the middle of nowhere for no reason! I ‘m ok meeting the “chick” but definitely not the chicken!!

Closing Song: Good Riddance -Greenday (Quite Fitting, Ain’t it?)
Closing Mood: Go home and freeze the hot stuff…

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in experiences, humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chicken!!

  1. wanderlust says:

    hope you dont end up working for him 😀

  2. theG says:

    friday eat out. interesting one. did not know about that one 🙂

  3. rand0mwalker says:

    @wanderlust
    No, No, No… Not even in my dreams.
    @theG
    Hmmm, what a waste!

  4. Atyllah says:

    Nothing wrong meeting chickens. But I protest at the eating of chickens!

  5. rand0mwalker says:

    @Atyllah
    I guess it’s a matter of choice and taste. (I am refering to the eating
    part, not the meeting 🙂 )

  6. theG says:

    no more posts in a long long time for both of us. i guess now time to correct it!

  7. rand0mwalker says:

    @theG
    Well, too busy to post anything. I should get a life 😛

  8. Jo says:

    The things ppl do n say…

  9. rand0mwalker says:

    @Jo
    I know about the saying part, not sure about the doing part though 🙂

Leave a Reply

