Indigo Blues

Opening Mood: Just reached office. So, hoping for a great day.
Opening Song: Shakira – Hips don’t Lie.

A winter’s day
In a deep and dark December;
I am alone,
Gazing from my window to the streets below
On a freshly fallen silent shroud of snow.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I’ve built walls,
A fortress deep and mighty,
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship; friendship causes pain.
It’s laughter and it’s loving I disdain.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

Don’t talk of love,
Well I’ve heard the word before;
It’s sleeping in my memory.
I won’t disturb the slumber of feelings that have died.
If I never loved I never would have cried.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

I have my books
And my poetry to protect me;
I am shielded in my armor,
Hiding in my room, safe within my womb.
I touch no one and no one touches me.
I am a rock,
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain;
And an island never cries.

Nice song that one. “I am a Rock” by Paul Simon.

Hey, don’t worry, I’m just fine. This ain’t one of my drunken rants on how depressing life is. ( I am not sure if I will ever manage to write one with perfection 😛 )

The fact is that I listened to this song early this morning on Radio Indigo. Song about a total loner-introvert who has been betrayed in life, that he has taken solace in isolation: An an Island Never Cries. And I am left wondering why is Radio Indigo playing this song early in the morning. This one is a good “In-a-dark-room-gazing-at-the-stars-with-whiskey-in-hand” kinda song. Definitely not an early morning song.

While I am pondering over this, guess what I hear next?

I thought love was only true in fairy tales
Meant for someone else but not for me
Love was out to get me
Or so it seemed
Disappointment haunted all my dreams
Till I saw your face
Now I’m a believer
Now there’s not a trace of doubt in my mind
I’m in love
Yeah I’m a believer
I couldn’t leave you if I tried
I thought love was more or less a giving thing
Seemed the more I gave the less I got
What’s the use of trying
All I get is pain
When I needed sunshine I got rain Till I saw your face
Now I’m a believer
Now there’s not a trace of doubt in my mind
I’m in love!

That’s “I’m a believer” by Cadet!!

First the pain and then the panacea! Interesting  concept :).

Closing Song: Zephyr – Red Hot Chili Peppers.
Closing Mood: Mails beckon.

About gautshen

A jack of many trades of which , Linux Kernel Programming puts food on the table. Also pursuing his PhD in the area Theoretical Computer Science at the Chennai Mathematical Institute. Is an avid reader interested in the Hindu traditions and philosophy. Loves Bicycling and Good Music. Name is Ranjal Gautham Shenoy.
This entry was posted in experiences, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

